Winners of Events at Alabama Cycling Classic Take Crowns in Professional Road Tour

Holowesko l Citadel Racing Dominates Sunny King Criterium and McClellan Road Race for Men; ISCorp Cycling p/b SmartChoice MRI Wins Crit with Rally Cycling Reigning on Road Race for Women

Sam-Schneider PRT leader by John Knoll Travis McCabe with crown by PS Women pro podium SKC by PS
Anniston, Ala. (April 6, 2016) - - Scoring victories at the McClellan Road Race on April 2, the second day of racing at the Alabama Cycling Classic, Oscar Clark (Athens, Ga.) of Holowesko l Citadel Racing Team p/b Hincapie Sportswear and Jessica Prinner (South Elgin, Ill.) of Rally Cycling captured the top spots on the the newly-established Professional Road Tour (PRT).
It was a podium sweep for Holowesko l Citadel Racing in the 91-mile road race, with teammates Andrei Krasilnikau (Belarus) and Andzs Flaksis (Latvia) finishing second and third, respectively. With Clark’s seventh-place finish at the Sunny King Criterium, he earned a total of 40 points for the early lead in the men’s standings for the USA Cycling competition.
Prinner out-climbed Jessica Mundy (Australia) of Fearless Femme Racing and Jamie Gilgen (Canada) of Visit Dallas DNA Pro Cycling in the 69-mile women’s road race. With a sixth place finish in the Sunny King Criterium, she earned 42 points to take the PRT lead for women.
Holowesko-Citadel Racing Team p/b Hincapie Sportswear holds an 83-point lead in the men’s team standings. In the women’s team standings, ISCorp Cycling p/b SmartChoice MRI holds a seven-point led over Rally Cycling. Both of the top teams started the weekend with wins in the Sunny King Criterium.
The Alabama Cycling Classic combines the well-established Sunny King Criterium with the McClellan Road Race for two full days of road racing, kicking off the PRT. It is the 14th year the City of Anniston has hosted the weekend of bicycle events, held in conjunction with the Noble Street Festival and supported by Sunny King Automotive.
“It was such a successful weekend on so many levels this year. The race registrations went over 700, so we were able to generate $12,500 for the Calhoun County chapter of the American Cancer Society Relay for Life. Web streaming of the criterium and road race was viewed by close to 20,000 unique viewers from 108 countries. The Alabama Cycling Classic proves it is more than bicycle races in Anniston,” said race director Marilyn Cullinane. “We greatly appreciate the support of all our sponsors, as well as the public safety support from the City of Anniston and Calhoun County.”

Watch the Replay!

All Sunny King Criterium races are available on our website. Five cameras around the race course caught full course action with course announcer Frankie Andreu and live stream announcer Brad Sohner.

Past Pro Winners

Men Women
2003 Chandler Weeks
2004 Dave McCook Michelle Scott
2005 Juan Jose Haedo Jenn Green
2006 Juan Jose Haedo Tina Pic
2007 Frank Travieso Laura Van Gilder
2008 Hilton Clarke Tina Pic
2009 Karl Menzies Brooke Miller
2010 Ben Kersten Nicky Wangsgard
2011 Jonathan Cantwell Janel Holcomb
2012 Issac Howe Erica Allar
2013 Carlos Alzate Coryn Rivera
2014 Carlos Alzate Coryn Rivera
2015 Tyler Magner Hannah Barnes
2016 Travis McCabe Samantha Schneider